Public Relations Office Jamia Millia Islamia

April 9, 2025

Press Release

Election of Teachers' Representatives in Academic Council of JMI

The Election of Teachers' Representatives to the Academic Council has been successfully conducted in the Jamia Millia Islamia (JMI). As per Statute 15 of Jamia Millia Islamia Act, 1988 two teachers from each faculty (11 Faculties and two teachers from all Centres established under Statute- 22) have to be elected by the permanent teachers from the Faculty concerned for the membership of the Academic Council (Majlis-i-Talimi) for a period of three years as per the Ordinance 33(XXXIII). The election was conducted through voting by a secret ballot by the Returning Officer, appointed by the Vice-Chancellor, JMI.

Prof. Mohammad Asad Malik of Faculty of Law was appointed as the Returning Officer for conducting the Elections. 43 Nominations from 12 Constituencies were received by the Returning Officer for election from11 Faculties and 1 Centres. As ten teachers from five Faculties received no opposition within their constituencies, they were elected unopposed. For the rest of the Faculties and Centres elections were conducted through secret ballot on 08.04.2025 in the Faculty of Engineering Auditorium. In this election, voters in large numbers participated with zeal and enthusiasm. Total 89% voting was recorded. The election was conducted in a cordial and peaceful environment.

The following faculty members have been elected as Teachers' Representatives to Academic Council (Majlis-i-Talimi): Dr. Ambreen Jamali & Dr. Etee Bahadur from all Centres created under Statute 22; Dr. Mohd. Arqam Khan & Dr. Mohammad Saquib from the Faculty of Architecture and Ekistics; Prof. Eram Perwez & Prof. Mohammad Faisal from the Faculty of Dentistry; Dr. Ansar Ahmad & Dr. Arif Mohammad from the Faculty of Education; Dr. Danish Raza Rizvi & Dr. Ibadur Rahman from the Faculty of Engineering and Technology; Dr. Bhupesh Chandra Little & Dr. Viqar Husain Siddiqui from the Faculty of Fine Arts; Dr. Mohd. Umar Farooque & Dr. Mohsin Ali from the Faculty of Humanities and Languages; Dr. Momin Noorjahan Shamim Ahmed & Dr. Subhradipta Sarkar from the Faculty of Law; Prof. Saif Siddiqui & Dr. Sunayana from the Faculty of Management Studies; Prof. Mohd. Shahid Khan & Dr. Taqseer Khan from the Faculty of Sciences; Dr. Mohammad Abid & Prof. Nikhat Manzoor from the Faculty of Life Sciences and Prof. Asheref Iliyan & Prof. Shahid Ahmed from the Faculty of Social Sciences.

The Returning Officer expressed his gratitude towards Prof. Mazhar Asif, Vice-Chancellor, JMI, Prof. Md. Mehtab Alam Rizvi, Registrar, JMI, Prof. Igtidar Mohammad

Khan, Dean, Faculty of Humanities & Languages, Prof. Abduzar Khairi, Hony. Director, Nelson Mandela Centre for Peace & Conflict Resolution, Prof. Arvinder A. Ansari, Provost, Hall of Girls' Residence, Prof. Nafis Ahmad, Director Games & Sports, Prof. Hina Zia, Faculty Of Architecture And Ekistics, Prof. Neelofer Afzal, Dean, Students' Welfare, Prof. Mini Shaji Thomas, Dean, Faculty of Engineering &Technology, Prof. Quamrul Hassan, Chief Media Coordinator and all members of teaching and non-teaching staff who were the part of the Election Process for helping in the smooth and successful conduct of the elections.

On this occasion the staff was presented with Certificates for their contribution in the whole process of election by the Returning Officer.

Public Relations Office Jamia Millia Islamia









